Talent Recap

Kelly Clarkson Drops Two New Songs, Announces Album Release Date

Kelly Clarkson "Chemistry" key artKelly Clarkson via Instagram

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Kelly Clarkson gave fans plenty to be excited about on Friday, as not only did she release two new songs, but she also shared the cover and release date for her upcoming new album Chemistry. Clarkson’s new songs are called “Mine” and “Me.”

Kelly Clarkson Releases New Songs ‘Mine’ and ‘Me’

Clarkson has been teasing the new songs since last week. The first new release, “Mine,” has a similar theme as Gabby Barrett’s “I Hope,” as Clarkson tells the song’s subject that she wants someone to make them feel like she does.

“I hope one day someone will take your heart and hold it tight,” Clarkson sings. “Make you feel like you’re invincible deep inside / And right when you think that it’s perfect they cross a line / And steal your shine / Like you did mine.”

In her other new song, titled “Me,” Clarkson shares a message of independence, singing, “I don’t need somebody to hold me / Don’t need somebody to love me / Don’t need somebody to pick these pieces up / I put together my broken / Let go of the pain I’ve been holdin’ / Don’t need to need somebody / When I got me.”

On both songs, Clarkson shows off the powerhouse voice that made her the first winner of American Idol. It’s getting fans very excited for the release of her new album.


Clarkson Announces Album Release Date

Clarkson has been teasing her new album for quite some time, and she recently shared that it will be called Chemistry. On Friday, to go along with the release of her new songs, Clarkson also announced that Chemistry will be out on June 23.

The singer shared the album’s cover on Instagram. It features three images of Clarkson in a long gown, layered on top of each other. The back cover features a black and white image of Clarkson in another flowy frock.

The new post also shows the album’s official tracklist, featuring songs called “Skip This Part,” “High Road,” and “My Mistake.” There will also be two featured artists on the album — Steve Martin on “I Hate Love,” and Sheila E. on “That’s Right.”

You can pre-order or pre-save the new album now.

Let us know what you feel about this article

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Calling all Talent Enthusiasts!

Subscribe to the Talent Recap Newsletter for all Talent News, and/or subscribe to our EXCLUSIVE America's Got Talent Newsletter for all the latest AGT Scoop!

Enter your email address in the box below, click "Subscribe", and find the latest news delivered to your inbox weekly. Be prepared to experience the thrill, the drama, and the sheer talent that all of these shows have to offer!
Choose the news YOU want
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x